About the AssociationHow we operate around the UK

The Association is a charity comprised of Trustees elected from its member teams, and Operational Officers who develop standards and governance.

These Officers are appointed from member teams and outside agencies, and comprise experts in pre-hospital medical care, search, flood response and safety. The Association produces governing standards for its 36 teams, and is a member of the UK Government’s UKSAR Operator’s Group – the official group which governs all of the UK’s onshore and offshore search and rescue operations.

The UKSAR Operator’s Group comprises:

  •             HM Coastguard (MCA)
  •             The Ministry of Defence (RAF)
  •             National Police Chief Council lead for SAR England and Wales
  •             Police Scotland
  •             Chief Fire Officers Association (CFOA)
  •             Association of Ambulance Chief Executives
  •             Royal National Lifeboat Institution (RNLI)
  •             Royal Life Saving Society (RLSS)
  •             Association of Lowland Search and Rescue (ALSAR)
  •             Mountain Rescue Council for England and Wales (MREW)
  •             Scottish Mountain Rescue (SMC)
  •             British Cave Rescue Council (BCRC)
  •             Scottish Fire and Rescue Service
  •             Police Services Northern Ireland (PSNI)
  •             Department of Justice Northern Ireland
  •             Association of Air Ambulances


Gareth Pritchard QPM


Gareth is the overall leader of Lowland Rescue and has responsibility for the Charity (along with the Trustees) as well as setting the direction and tone of the organisation.

Gareth retired in the rank of Chief Constable in November 2018 after 34 years police service. Between 2013-2018 he was National Policing Lead for police forces in England & Wales for Search and Rescue and was Vice Chair of the UK Strategic Search and Rescue Committee. He was Chair of the North Wales Local Resilience Forum for three years and accredited by the College of Policing as a Police Gold Commander for firearms operations, public order incidents and multi-agency major incidents. 


Executive Officers


Teresa Archer

Vice Chairman

Aileen Ohlson


Lyndsey Donaldson-Selby





Noel Kerr


Sean McCarry

Andy Harrison MBE




Senior Leadership Team


Land Search & IT

Kris Manning

Medical Director

Dr Piers Page

Water Lead

Sean McCarry

Public Relations

Neil Balderson

Service Assurance

Geordie Canavan

Air Assets

Gemma Alcock

Search Dogs

Jon Bromley


Adam Webster


Andy MacAuley

Sponsership & Fundraising